Beekeepers sell their honey produce to tourists and locals at Conwy Honey Fair

Who’s IN?

Over 11,000 non-state members have joined Race to Zero, representing 8,307 companies, 595 financial institutions, 52 regions, 1136 cities, 1,125 educational institutions, 65 healthcare institutions and 29 other organisations, to collectively halve global emissions by 2030.

Find out who’s in Race to Zero around the world here.

UK members of Race to Zero


Wales and Scotland are members of Race to Zero as part of the Under2 Coalition of high ambition countries.

The rest of the UK is considerably ahead of Wales in local authorities joining Race to Zero – where none have yet joined.


Cardiff Capital Region

During Cop26, Cardiff Capital Region agreed to work towards the Race to Zero pledge.

Cardiff Capital Region covers ten of Wales’ 22 local authorities:

  • Blaenau Gwent Council
  • Bridgend County Borough Council
  • City of Cardiff Council
  • Caerphilly Council
  • Merthyr Tydfil Council
  • Monmouthshire Council
  • Newport Council
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf Council
  • Torfaen Council
  • Vale of Glamorgan Council

Public Service BOARDS (PSB’s)

Powys Public Services Board Well-being Plan is shaped by the five Ps membership criteria of Race to Zero.

English local authorities
Birmingham Council
Bradford Council
Brighton and Hove Council
Bristol Council
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council
Calderdale Council
Cambridgeshire County Council
Cheltenham Council
City of London Council
Cornwall Council
Cotswold District Council
Gloucestershire County Council
Greater London Authority
Greater Manchester Council
High Peak Council
Leeds Council
Leicestershire County Council
Liverpool Council
Liverpool City Region
London Borough of Camden
London Borough of Enfield
London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham
London Borough of Lambeth
London Borough of Lewisham
London Borough of Southwark
London Borough of Waltham Forest
Manchester Council
Newcastle Council
Nottingham Council
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
Oxford Council
Oxfordshire Council
Plymouth Council
Reading Borough Council
Royal Borough of Greenwich Council
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Council
Sandwell Council
Sheffield City Council
Somerset West and Taunton Council
St Albans City and District Council
Staffordshire Moorlands Council
Stevenage Borough Council
Stroud Council
Sunderland Council
Swale Borough Council
Warwickshire County Council
West Midlands Combined Authority
Westminster Council
Wiltshire Council

Scottish local authorities
Aberdeen Council
Dundee Council
Edinburgh Council
Glasgow Council
Perth and Kinross Council
West Dunbartonshire Council

Northern Irish local authorities

UK National Parks
All are in the process of signing up to Race to Zero including in Wales:
Bannau Brycheiniog National Park
Eryri National Park
Pembrokeshire Coast National Park

UK Businesses
Almost two-thirds of FTSE100 (Britain’s biggest) companies
Small and Medium-sized Companies and B-Corps including in Wales:
Cynnal Cymru Sustain-Wales
Ffilm Cymru Wales
Mainport Training (Wales) Ltd
Perago Wales Ltd
Puma Watch North Wales
Terra Firma Wales Limited
The Little Welsh Chocolate Company Limited

Water companies including in Wales:
Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water

UK universities
68 universities including in Wales:
Aberystwyth University
Cardiff University
Swansea University

UK colleges
Many UK colleges including in Wales:
Bridgend College
Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama